OCEAN COUNTY LIBRARY COMMISSION MINUTES OF REORGANIZATION MEETING

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Attendees: Ocean County Library Commission

Susan L. Hutler, Chair

Ruthanne Scaturro, Vice Chair

Sal Baglio

Henry J. Mancini Timothy McDonald Christopher J. Mullins

Other Attendees: John C. Sahradnik, Library Counsel

Edward Feurey, Library Counsel Susan Quinn, Library Director

Sara Siegler, Assistant Library Director Jennifer Doderer, Personnel Director Deborah Blackwell, Training Coordinator Barry DePaul, Assistant Facilities Manager Michael Erickson, Assistant Facilities Manager

David Evans, Technology Manager

Rachael LaVoie-Dohn, Chief Librarian, Toms River

Tim Mailley, Assistant Technology Manager Rita Oakes, Chief Librarian, Branch Services

Jennifer Woodman, Budget Officer

Jeannie Collacott, Librarian 4, Young Adult Services Coordinator

Collen Gunther, Librarian 2, Toms River

Gigi Hayes, Librarian 4, Adult Services Coordinator

Judy Macaluso, Librarian 4, Branch Services Bonnie Mullane, Administrative Clerk, Facilities Kelly Nichols, Administrative Clerk, Administration Kelly-Ann Pennell, Librarian 4, Branch Services

Phil Rosenow, Buyer, Facilities

Linda Stoddard, Senior Library Assistant, Collections

Sherri Taliercio, Librarian 1, Public Relations

Alex Zubritzky, Graphic Artist 3, Printing & Graphics

<u>Presiding</u>: Susan L. Hutler, Chair

- 1. Mrs. Hutler read the Open Public Meetings Act at 4:00 p.m.
 - A. In compliance with the Open Public Meetings Act of the State of New Jersey, adequate notice of this meeting of the Ocean County Library Commission was provided in the following manner:
 - On December 18, 2019, advance notice of this meeting was posted on the Bulletin Board located in the entrance hall of the Ocean County Library, 101 Washington Street, Toms River, NJ;

- 2. On December 20, 2019, advance written notice of this meeting was published in the Asbury Park Press;
- 3. On December 20, 2019, advance written notice of this meeting was published in The Press of Atlantic City;
- 4. On December 18, 2019, advance written notice of this meeting was filed with the Clerk of the County of Ocean;
- 5. On December 18, 2019, advance written notice of this meeting was mailed to all persons who, according to the records of the Ocean County Commission, paid for such notices on or after December 18, 2019.
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Roll Call and Announcements
- 4 Appointment of John C. Sahradnik as Temporary Chair

Mrs. Hutler turned the meeting over to Mr. Sahradnik at this time.

5. **Election of Officers**

Nominations for Chair

Nominations for Chairperson were called for by Mr. Sahradnik. Mrs. Hutler nominated Mrs. Scaturro for Chair of the Library Commission.

Second: Mr. Mancini

Roll Call: Ayes: All members answered Aye

Passed unanimously

The meeting was turned over to Chairperson Scaturro.

Nominations for Vice Chair

Mr. Baglio nominated Mr. Mullins for Vice Chair of the Library Commission.

Second: Mrs. Scaturro

Roll Call: Ayes: All members answered Aye

Passed unanimously

6. Commission Representative to the Ocean County Library Foundation

Mr. Mancini nominated Mrs. Hutler for Commission Representative to the Ocean County

Library Foundation.

Second: Mr. Baglio

Roll Call: Ayes: All members answered Aye

Passed unanimously

7. Professional Service Agreements for 2020 (Copies on file, Library Administration Office)

The following Professional Services Agreements were submitted for approval:

Legal Counsel

Berry, Sahradnik, Kotzas, & Benson, P.C.

Retainer: \$25,000.00 Maximum Hourly Rate: \$180.00

Labor Counsel

Citta, Holzapfel & Zabarsky

Composite Hourly Rate: \$150.00

Auditor

Holman, Frenia, & Allison, P.C. Maximum Hourly Rate: \$200.00

A Consent Motion to approve the above was made by:

Mr. Baglio

Second: Mr. Mancini

Roll Call: Ayes: Mr. Baglio, Mrs. Hutler, Mr. Mancini, Mr. McDonald,

Mr. Mullins, Mrs. Scaturro

Passed unanimously

8. Designation of Official Newspaper

Motion to approve the designation of the *Asbury Park Press* and *The Press of Atlantic City* as the official newspapers to receive legal notices and also publication for informational purposes was made by:

Mrs. Hutler

Second: Mr. Baglio

Roll Call: Ayes: All members answered Aye

Passed unanimously

9. Designation of Official Depositories for Library Funds

Motion to approve the designation of Wells Fargo, OceanFirst Bank, and Office of the Treasurer, County of Ocean, Toms River, NJ, as the official depositories for Library funds was made by:

Mr. Mullins

Second: Mrs. Hutler

Roll Call: Ayes: All members answered Aye

Passed unanimously

.10. Motion to re-adopt the Commission By-laws as written:

Mr. Mancini

Second: Mr. Baglio

Roll Call: Ayes: Mr. Baglio, Mrs. Hutler Mr. Mancini, Mr. McDonald,

Mr. Mullins, Mrs. Scaturro

Passed unanimously

11. Motion to accept the April 19, 2005, No Quorum Resolution as written:

Mrs. Hutler

Second: Mr. Baglio

Roll Call: Ayes: Mr. Baglio, Mrs. Hutler Mr. Mancini, Mr. McDonald,

Mr. Mullins, Mrs. Scaturro

Passed unanimously

- 12. Terms of the Ocean County Library Commission
- 13. Public Comment

14. Motion to adjourn was made by: Mr. Mullins

Second: Mrs. Hutler

Roll Call: Ayes: All members answered Aye

Passed unanimously

The meeting adjourned at 4:06 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Harry T. Applegate Jr., Secretary Ocean County Library Commission