Education Initiative Digital Resources

Streaming video on demand covering a wide-range of subjects. From arts & humanities to science, mathematics, and technology, documentaries from producers such as the History Channel , HBO, Nova and Ken Burns.  All videos come with public performance rights for classroom or other public use. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Primary sources covering the American Revolution, the Civil War, the Women’s Suffrage movement, and more. Full text Ocean County History in Salter’s 1890 A History Of Monmouth And Ocean Counties included in County History collection. Other collections include African-American newspapers, Godey’s Lady’s Book, WWI American Military Camp Newspapers (includes Camp Dix), Women’s Suffrage Collection and the "Pennsylvania Gazette" (1728-1800). This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Articles, videos, primary sources, images, biographies and timelines on 500 years of African-American history from Facts on File.  This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Find firsthand knowledge of American History with primary documents. Search and browse by topic and by era from pre-Colonial America to the present with articles, maps, graphs, videos, biographies, and timelines. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Articles, primary sources, images, maps, timelines and biographies from pre-Colonial American Indian History to contemporary Native American activists. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Hundreds more sources in the upgraded America’s News. News articles from hundreds of national and local newspapers including the Newark Star Ledger, the New York Daily News, the New York Post, the Philadelphia Inquirer, and the Press of Atlantic City. Transcripts of hundreds of TV news shows including shows from CNN, FOX, CBS, NPR, and more all available 24/7 with your library card. The Bergen Record has issues from 1985 to 2022 here but issues after 2022 are now in Proquest Online. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

The history of ancient and medieval Africa, Near East and Asia, Ancient Egypt, Greece and Rome, the Middle Ages in Europe, the Medieval Islamic world, and North and South America before Columbus. Subjects in the topic centers include art, cities, economics, geography, government, literature, religion, and science. Includes primary sources, maps, videos and timelines. This database is provided with funding from Ocean County Library.

Search news coverage from both Monmouth and Ocean County, New Jersey. This database is a part of US Newsstream by Proquest offering hundreds of local and regional newspapers including the Ocean County Observer (Dec 17, 2002 - Jan 10, 2008). Note: Many obituaries published from 1999-2005 in the Asbury Park Press are missing from this database, please contact library staff for assistance. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Find reliable information on over 500,000 famous people both past and present with video, audio, images, obituaries, and articles. Search by name, occupation, nationality, year of birth, and more. Continuously updated. This database is provided with funding from Ocean County Library.

Learn about the Black American experience. Gale’s collection of reference books covers everything from the daily life of the slave, to literature to the pioneers who have broken the color barrier. It’s all here on your online library. This database is provided through funding from the Ocean County Library.

Read all about literary movements, authors and their characters in this well-respected literary database featuring the noted Harold Bloom. Just added: 100 full length performance videos of classic plays including Much Ado about Nothing, The Glass Menagerie, Antigone, and Cyrano de Bergerac. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Help Now! Free live one-on-one online tutoring from a Brainfuse tutor. Tutoring is available in math, science, writing and other subjects for elementary, middle school, high school and college students. All BrainFuse tutors have at least a four year degree and are background checked. Includes live online help for Spanish Language help from Spanish speaking tutors, a writing lab that gives feedback on written assignments within 24 hours and much more. Requires an Ocean County Library card barcode number. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Free live resume experts, live interview coaches and job coaches to help you on your job search. Submit your resume for expert feedback, career assessment tools and job resources, skill building lessons, videos, practice tests, resume creation software, match your skills and interests to careers and more. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

New Jersey's newest and most powerful all inclusive career tool. Resume building is just the beginning. Provided by the New Jersey State Library.

Information on modern writers needed? Start here with biographical information, lists of their works, and short summaries of their major writings. Novelists, non-fiction writers, poets, playwrights, journalists, and screenwriters are covered. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Countries, U.S. states, and Canadian provinces with statistics, customs, maps, recipes, holidays, daily life, geography, videos, famous people, and everything that is needed for most country and state reports. Recommended for elementary and middle school students. To access from home, enter OCL as both user id and password. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Great resource for middle school, high school and junior college teachers. Contains printable handout material on various curriculum subject areas. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

EBSCOhost es una colección de bases de datos, la cual contiene una variedad amplia de artículos de revistas y diarios en información general, negocios, y asuntos de la salud. También tiene productos diseņado específicamente para los niņos y los adolescentes. Esta base de datos es proporcionada con financiación de la Biblioteca de Nueva Jersey.

Enciclopedia en Español.Gratis! De World Book Online Έsta base de datos le puede asistir en las tareas y reportes! Haga clic en el titulo para acceder datos en ciencias sociales, reportes biográficos y otros proyectos escolares. Ademas, contiene un diccionario. Para niños y jovenes de grados 4 – 12. Esta base de datos es proporcionada con financiación de la Biblioteca de Ocean County.

Great resource for teachers and those interested in education. The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) contains scholarly articles, citations and abstracts from thousands of journals related to this exciting field. Provided by the New Jersey State Library.

Grades K-5 – Browse categories for popular subjects. Topic overview articles are a great starting point for homework. Lexile reading levels, audio options and more. Provided by the New Jersey State Library.

Teachers – Lesson plans, subject area articles, education trends, professional development, curriculum standards, student tools and more. Provided by the New Jersey State Library.

Grades 6-12 – Search and browse here for magazine, newspaper and encyclopedia articles, biographies, photographs, videos and more. Lexile Reading levels, audio options and more. Provided by the New Jersey State Library.

All the Facts on File databases at once: American History, American Indian History,  Modern World History, Ancient and Medieval History, African-American History, Bloom’s Literature, Health Reference Center, Curriculum Resource Center, World Almanac, Science Online, Today’s Science and Access Video. These databases are provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Not sure what to do with your life? You can now explore thousands of careers, browse scholarships, get advice about applying for jobs, learn how to write the perfect resume and get tips on how to ace an interview, all in one place! This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Gale Virtual Reference Library es una base de datos de enciclopedias, almanaques y recursos de referencia especiales para investigaciones multidisciplinarias. Instrucciones Especiales Para Obtener Materiales en Espaņol: Seleccioné "preferences" > seleccioné "Spanish" >haga clic en "apply preferences" > haga clic en "OK" > haga clic en "basic" para una busquea básica o "advanced search" para una busquea mas avanzada. Esta base de datos es proporcionada con financiación de la Biblioteca de Ocean County.

Climate change, pollution, sustainable agriculture and architecture (green housing), renewable energy, recycling, and all related environmental topics can be researched here in recent journals. Includes Catalyst,  Monthly Energy Review, and Solar Today. Provided by the New Jersey State Library.

Organized into targeted learning centers, LearningExpress Library Complete supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more. Learning centers contain practice tests, interactive tutorials, e-books, articles and flashcards. Provided through funding from the Ocean County Library.

Base de datos LearningExpress Library Complete en Español ofrece tutoriales en gramática inglesa, matemáticas basica e exámenes para practicár. Esta base de datos es proporcionada con financiación de la Biblioteca de Ocean County.

We’re sorry for any inconvenience, but Lynda.com will no longer be available to Ocean County Library customers

Online courses for English Speakers in 72 languages. Complete list available on Mango website. English as a second language courses in twenty different languages including Arabic, Mandarin, Russian, Spanish and more. Mobile App available in Apple App Store and Google Play. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Attention middle and junior high school students. Need some help with that homework? Here’s a great place to find some answers. This database has magazine articles, biographies and primary source documents for all your assignments and reports. There’s also a collection of photos, maps and flags. Provided by the New Jersey State Library.

For genealogy, history and research, search the everyday news coverage of the newspaper of record for more than 150 years.  Click on the Topics button to browse the famous New York Times Index to identify the important articles on a topic with short summaries. Politics, society, sports, major events, obituaries, and more. More recent back issues of the New York Times are available in US Newsstream. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

What to read next? Enter the title of a book you like. Click on the listing to see suggested read-a-likes!  Browse by your mood or by the kinds of books you like. Teens, Middle, and Elementary School recommendations. Also helps parents and teachers search by reading levels and curriculums. Provided by the New Jersey State Library with additional funding from Ocean County Library.

Find a new favorite author or series with recommendations based on your preferences, using features such as Author Read-Alikes, Book Discussion Guides, Book Lists, Describe a Plot, Explore Fiction, and Find Similar Books. Includes nonfiction titles. Provided by the New Jersey State Library with additional funding from Ocean County Library.

Designed specifically for the professional educator, this database has over 500 full text education journals. Funding provided by Ocean County Library.

¡Aprenda cualquiera de los 80 idiomas gratis! Pronunciator tiene una opción fácil para aprender conversaciones, frases y vocabulario y también ofrece la oportunidad para llegar más cerca hacia fluidez en el idioma con horas de instrucción, ejercicios interactivos, cuestionarios, el reconocimiento de voz para mejorar la pronunciación y lecciones y libros de frases de audio descargables. Con la capacidad de aprender 80 diferente idiomas en 50 diferente idiomas, por ejemplo usted puede aprender japonés con las instrucciones en español, igualmente usted puede aprender Inglés (ESL) con las instrucciones en español o en 50 diferente idiomas. Aplicaciones gratuitas disponibles para todos los dispositivos Android y Apple. Necesita la tarjeta de biblioteca para registrarse. Esta base de datos es proporcionada con financiación de la Biblioteca del Condado de Ocean.

Foreign language lessons for free with your library card! Learn phrases, vocabulary and grammar with interactive drills, quizzes, speech recognition for better pronunciation, downloadable audio lessons, phrase books and hours of instruction to bring you closer to fluency. Learn any of 80 languages, in virtually any other language. English (ESL) offered for speakers in 51 non-English languages including Spanish, Mandarin or Cantonese Chinese, Arabic,  Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Russian, and more. Mobile Apps available in Apple App Store and Google Play. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Un recurso exhaustivo en idioma español que ofrece 49.000 entradas de enciclopedia, 50.000 imágenes, 2.500 informes médicos, un diccionario español-inglés y el texto completo de más de 100 libros de referencia y docenas de revistas de interés general en una amplia variedad de temas. Su interfaz intuitiva, basada en temas y en idioma español está diseñada para que el contenido sea de acceso inmediato para los hispanohablantes que tienen una experiencia de investigación en línea limitada. Las actualizaciones diarias aseguran la disponibilidad de los artículos más actuales de una docena de periódicos importantes de 10 países de América Latina. Esta base de datos es proporcionada con financiación de la Biblioteca de Nueva Jersey.

Learn 30 languages with Rosetta Stone for free. Sign up with your library barcode number and your email address as your Username. Choose a language to learn when you sign in. To change languages, exit the program then login again choosing the new language. To access Rosetta Stone on your mobile device, follow the instructions linked here. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Salud en Español provee reportes completos basados en evidencias y fichas de datos relacionados a todos los aspectos de la salud y el bienestar. Reportes específicos por tema que cubren todos los aspectos de la salud, dan información general importante en relación a enfermedades, afecciones y procedimientos de diversos tratamientos. Esta base de datos es proporcionada con financiación de la Biblioteca del Condado de Ocean.

An online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction from Children's Press and other trusted Scholastic imprints. This engaging resource for children in grades pre-K through 3 will help early readers develop and practice essential reading skills and introduce them to a world of knowledge and exploration. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

An online resource that focuses on engaging subject-area science content for students spanning grades 4-9. Each unit will help hone literacy skills while bolstering understanding of crucial subjects relating to science, technology, and engineering. ScienceFlix offers the latest STEM concepts and the Next Generation Science Standards for middle school students. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

An online database of tens of thousands of searchable and printable, ready-to-use educational materials for educators and parents. Resources include worksheets, lesson plans, games and puzzles, skill sheets and more for all grades. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Provides nonfiction content to supplement social studies and science learning for grades 3-6. TrueFlix includes timely and engaging content that is accessible for all patrons, provides digital tools for homework help and research, and supports the Common Core Standards and the school and homeschool curriculum. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Created for educators by educators, The Mailbox® Plus contains carefully planned and edited content to help educators build important grade-level skills. Strategies for classroom management are included along with unlimited, simultaneous access to 52,000+ worksheets, crafts, forms, songs, games, graphic organizers, patterns, clip art, cards, ideas, lesson plan builders, and more. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

TumbleBookLibrary is a collection of TumbleBooks (animated, talking picture books). There are also puzzles and games, children's classics in read-along format, and some titles in Spanish and French. The picture books are perfect for preschoolers and their parents but some materials are for ages up to 12. E-books for e-kids! This database is provided through funding from the Ocean County Library.

Over 600 continuing education courses available at no cost with an Ocean County Library card. Course offerings include Microsoft Office 365 (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, Publisher) and Google Docs, Sheets and Slides. Take courses on Cybersecurity, QuickBooks, business, basic finance, career training, How To/Do It Yourself, Homeschooling, Parenting, Crafts & Hobbies, Alternative Medicine and many more. Study on your own schedule with real instructors to contact with any questions. Continuing education units are available on selected courses. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Search hundreds of local and regional newspapers with some contents back to the 1980s. Includes The New York Times, The Philadelphia Inquirer, The Boston Globe, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, and The Los Angeles Times. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Find Taylor Swift’s birthday, or the nickname of South Dakota, or watch a video of the top ten cleverest animals (including the skateboarding bulldog) here. Also find information from from history to science, reading, and famous people. Easy to use and filled with fun facts. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

World Book Activity Corner contains thousands of cross-curricular, low-cost, fun yet educational projects for the classroom, after school programs, and library programing. Activities are suitable for a wide range of student skill levels, ages, and curricular goals. There are curriculum correlations for alignment to state and provincial standards, making it easy for teachers to ensure that the activities they select fulfill their instructional goals.

Encyclopedia for reluctant readers, visual learners, English Language learners, and adult literacy students. Articles are available in audio format, Spanish, and many other languages. Lexile measures and other tools for teachers are included. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Developed with experts on early childhood education and guided by evidence-based practices of reading instruction, Early Learning offers rich resources in the form of videos, games, stories, and activities designed for preschoolers and children in the early elementary grades. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

An on-the-go digital library for all ages and reading levels. Get access to engaging sets only available from World Book, including story books, picture books, graphic novels, and chapter books alongside well-known classic titles from famous authors. Books are easily searchable by topic, grade level, and curriculum subject and can be seamlessly integrated with other platforms using the included MARC records and direct links to texts. eBooks also features 24/7, unlimited simultaneous access to every title; a personal bookshelf; offline reading; and annotation tools. (All ages and reading levels) This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Online encyclopedia especially for kids. Easy to use with articles, games, videos, science projects, and more. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Full encyclopedia with advanced search tools, citation tools, resource guides. If you miss the World Book in paper, everything in it is here and free with your library card. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

Encyclopedia for middle and intermediate school students. Homework research, science projects, articles, biographies, maps, and more. This database is provided with funding from the Ocean County Library.

See the earth differently through World Geography & Culture Online. It combines detailed, printable, full-color maps of countries, provinces, and states with up-to-date statistical and local information, which allows you to rank and compare states and countries in a variety of categories including population and income. This database is provided through funding from the Ocean County Library.